Eusebio Villanueva Mansion is formerly known as Don Julio Ledesma House. Its location is along Bonifacio Drive in Iloilo City. Very near the Iloilo Provincial Capitol. It was built in 1928 and the original owner was Don Julio Ledesma.
Eusebio Villanueva House History
The house’s materials are narra wood, concrete and galvanized iron. It has two floors. It was believed that the Ledesma Family gave the mansion to a certain Spaniard named Manuel Galalas when the Ledesma prospered as a gratitude for Galalas’ help. Galalas sold the house at a very reasonable price to Engineer Eusebio Canto Villanueva, who was the engineer of the house.
At the Present
The mansion is proudly standing.
Don Eusebio Villanueva and his wife Dona Remedios Sian have seven children:
Solange Villanueva is married to Jose Jamandre of Negros. Two building in Iloilo has their names. First is the building beside Iloilo Grand Hotel (Hortaleza Shop) and Iloilo Central Trading Building where the YCA Trading is.
In September 2023, Eusebio Villanueva Mansion opened as Balay Remedios – the Villanueva Family turned into a Filipino and Spanish cuisine restaurant, cafe, museum, and events place along Bonifacio Drive, Iloilo City by descendants of Don Eusebio and Remedios Villanueva.
This is now a place where tradition, flavor, and togetherness meet. The home invites us to a unique culinary journey.
[Read also] List of Iloilo City Cultural Heritage Sites